Man survives snowdrift on frozen beer

Coors Light /Ext

An Alaskan man who got stuck in a snowdrift survived his three day ordeal by eating frozen cans of beer.

Clifton Vial, 52, had been driving in a remote area outside of the town of Nome when he crashed and his car became stuck, reports the Anchorage Daily News.

He was wearing tennis shoes, jeans and a cheap jacket – with temperatures dropping to minus 28C, he realised he was in trouble.

“I made an attempt at digging myself out and realized how badly I was stuck,” he said. “I would have been frostbit before I ever got the thing out of there.”

Mr Vial used a sleeping bag liner to keep warm and occasionally started the engine of his truck to turn on the heater.

But with no food in his vehicle, Mr Vial was lacking in nourishment until he realised he had a few cans of Coors Light with him.

“I cut the lids off and dug it out with a knife,” he said.

His family was out of town so nobody realised he was gone until he failed to show up for work and his employer raised the alarm.

Police, firefighters, co-workers and volunteers launched a search and eventually found Mr Vial’s truck 60 hours after he got stuck.

“I felt really p***ed at myself,” he said. “I shouldn’t have been out there by myself unprepared for what I knew was possible.”

http://web.orange.co.uk/article/quirkies/Man_survives_snowdrift_on_frozen_beer

by Arthur Furrowfield + robin

Posted in 1, Beer, They Said, WTF. Comments Off on Man survives snowdrift on frozen beer
