“I’m fit for the London Marathon thanks to my Lycra tights” says Ed “Crazy” Balls

The snow is coming down thick and fast. It’s January and I am six miles into a ten-mile training run. My legs are stiffening up and suddenly I’m anxious – very anxious.
It’s my first Saturday morning circuit of Pontefract race track in 2012. Give up now and I will fail to finish a critical milestone in my London Marathon preparations. Keep running and I may end up snowed in at the car park.
‘Speed up, Ed,’ shout a couple of walkers, as their dog yaps around my stiffening legs. The path is barely visible and very slippery and, as I pass the four-furlong post, the wind is bitter. What am I doing here? Whose idea was this?
A fit rugby player in my teens, a good footballer in my 20s, I have been a couch potato ever since. Gym? Too boring. Swimming? Too smelly. Golf? Too time-consuming. As for jogging, is anything more dull?
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2133199/Im-fit-London-Marathon-thanks-Lycra-tights-aerobics-says-Labour-heavyweight-Ed-Balls.html#ixzz1sj5zrJrt

by Arthur Furrowfield + Dr.Vince

Posted in 1, Arthurs Potting Shed, Beer, Dr.Vince, European, Football. Comments Off on “I’m fit for the London Marathon thanks to my Lycra tights” says Ed “Crazy” Balls