Hot, Sexy and … Weird?

Imagine your favourite K-pop girl group, pretty young things sauntering around, gyrating their hips and dancing sexily in their music video.

Now imagine a group of middle-aged mothers doing the same sultry dance routine.

If the thought disturbs you, imagine how the five Singapore celebrity mums – veteran actresses Xiang Yun, Pan Ling Ling, Lin Meijiao, May Phua and Vivian Lai – must’ve felt when they first heard they have been tasked to do a sexy K-pop dance number, during the upcoming “The SPD Charity Show .

“When I first saw the video of the dance routine, I looked at Mei Jiao and said ‘Can you do it?’ Then she looked at me and asked me the same thing. I went ‘errr’,” said Pan during the press conference for the charity show last week.

“We should be learning taichi or yoga, not a sexy dance like this!” Lin added with a laugh.

“I hoped they would leave me out!

“Anyway, it was fated; my assignment in Malaysia was cancelled so I got included in this performance,” said Xiang Yun resignedly.

But it was Phua who felt the most uncomfortable about the whole idea, especially after a failed ‘dance debut’ with her family as her audience.

“I thought if I could successfully dance for my husband and child, it should be okay, but when I did a bit of the K-pop dance for my husband, he just couldn’t stop laughing,” said Phua with a grimace.

“I am not the sexy sort. Ask me to run, do handstands, it is okay. This is not something I would do.”

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/entertainmentfeatures/view/1113858/1/.html

by The Punjapit Alliance

Posted in 1, Art, Far East Asia, Music, sex, They Said, WTF. Comments Off on Hot, Sexy and … Weird?